Pick Of The Week 30.09.15

I’ve been pushing myself more and more recently to start buying and reading more indie titles, not just the stuff coming from Image but other publishers too, small press and webcomics.  It’s been remarkably enlightening in fact, I’ve realised over the last few months that my tastes in comics and art are far more diverse than I originally thought.  It’s nice, being able to look at so many more books than I did before, not judging something as “not to my taste” without actually picking it up and even flicking through it first.  A perfect example of this was picking up book 1 of Hinges from Meredith McClaren, so struck by her wonderful art I ended up buying Heart in a Box, published by Dark Horse.  Written by Kelly Thompson and with art from McClaren, it tells a story so gripping and heart warming nothing could avert my attention until I’d finished it.  Not a book I would have picked up six months to a year ago, but here I am thoroughly recommending it to anyone that likes good comics.

But, sometimes, a good superhero story can’t be beaten.  My pick of the week this week is Justice League #44, Chapter Four of the Darkseid War.  With Geoff Johns spinning what is quite possibly his best story to date, Jason Fabok providing absolutely art and all perfectly complimented by Brad Anderson’s colours, the latest issue seriously ramps up the tension and action to breaking point, with the final act payoff being so huge I had to read the book twice today to properly take everything in.  I’m a huge fan of Geoff Johns, I loved his run on Teen Titans but in particular it was his work on Green Lantern that really pulled me in.  Before Flashpoint he had two major events and one smaller one, Sinestro Corps War, Blackest Night and War of the Green Lanterns respectively, all of which were fantastic reads and drew from decades of DC mythology.  Darkseid war is taking things to a whole new level, it feels like everything Johns has done since Flashpoint has been leading right up to this moment, this entire story line is a huge payoff for the last four years of DC.

JL44Preview

Honestly, we as DC fans have been through some solid books and a whole lot of garbage mixed in for those four years, and even through all the crap we’ve endured this Justice League story, this Darkseid War, all feels totally worth it.  Jason Fabok is proving himself to be an upper echelon artist not just at DC, but in the entire comics industry.  He manages to keep pages busy with action and characters clear and easy to follow, the level of detail is frankly incredible and he’s drawing Wonder Woman better than anyone else at DC right now.  With Brad Anderson on colours, who perfectly compliments the mood and action of each panel with expertly chosen palettes further cements my opinion that this is an A* book put out by an A* team.

Leave a Reply

