It’s All CDProjekt Red’s Fault!

Here we are again, another post going up with me blaming something or someone else for me not getting an actual post done that I wanted.  But you know what, this really isn’t my fault, honest!  CDPR have managed to craft one of the greatest multimedia experiences I’ve ever had the pleasure of enjoying.  I feel like referring to it as a game oversimplifies what has been achieved here, it’s almost a put down.  This isn’t me being over-the-top or anything, there’s so much content here, sometimes it feels like an epic, sweeping movie with twists and turns in the plot and some fantastic character moments.  Every now and then you’ll just get totally swept up by the extraordinary landscapes and scenery, it’s a marvel to behold at times.  I’d love to be able to run this to it’s full potential on a high end PC but, sadly, I don’t have one of those at the moment.  Instead, I’m having to deal with this on PS4 which within the first ten minutes treats you to this lovely view.

CFi1NQRW0AAobeb

I’ve had The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt for around a week and a half and I’ve managed to sink a little over 52 hours into it so far, with a sizeable amount of that time going into finding people that will play Gwent, places and people I can either win or buy new Gwent cards and going through my Gwent deck and refining my roster for each of the factions.  A lot of the time is also exploring, wandering here and there to see what I can find.  I’ve got through some of the story, out of the alleged 60 hours the story takes I’d say I’ve done around 15 so I’ve barely scratched the surface here.  And why would I when exploration looks as pretty as this?

CF4DY3sWIAIHLgI

What really strikes me with this game so far is how loved it feels.  I mean, the incredible depth and history to the world is amazing don’t get me wrong, but due credit goes to Andrzej Sapkowski, the author of the series of short stories and novels these books are based off.  No, with CDPR this is a development team that weren’t simply tasked with making a game out of these books, this is a group of people that love the original Witcher stories, a group of people that love making games, a group of people that understand what makes gamers tick and take great pride in their craft.  It shows, CDPR are a company I’ve held in high esteem for a considerable amount of time, and The Witcher 3 solidifies my feelings.  They’ve not only set a whole new standard for RPGs but they’ve even further raised the bar for the treatment of games, releases and us, the fans.

And that’s why I’ve fallen so far behind with my posts.

Still, I’m starting a new short form regular tomorrow that will be coming every Tuesday, which will be my pull list comics for the week and any other off list purchases I’ll be making (new trades, hardcovers or OGNs).  After that, I have a bit of a busy week but will hopefully be able to get this favourite Image series thing finished.

I’m going to go and watch Game of Thrones now, but before I go here’s one last Witcher screenshot: me parking a boat like an absolute boss (read: idiot).

CGbAR9iWgAAXASf

Peace out!

Leave a Reply

