31 Days of comics, day 30

Hello hello, welcome to the penultimate post for the 31 days of comics challenge.  Hasn’t this been fun?  I know I’ve had a blast, though it’ll be nice for it to be done so I can move on to doing some more opinion pieces on other things.  Anyway, first off I’d like to apologise for the lateness of this post, got home last night and my laptop decided to just lose half it’s drivers, very odd but it meant that by the time that was sorted, it was bed time.  So, lucky you guys, getting three posts in one day.

Today’s challenge has me looking at a truly smart comic, which as far as I’m concerned is dead easy.  I got this in my head straight away, even though it’s a series I’m not very far through at all, I can see right from the beginning what they’re aiming for and the way things are pulled off, it’s a stroke of genius.

A truly smart comic


Y The Last Man from Vertigo

I’m quite a big fan of Vertigo, they put out some of the best stuff I’m reading at the moment (namely Fables) and this is another older series from them that I jumped onto really late.  It takes a look at what would happen if all the men in the world were to die.  Not just men, in fact, all males.  Well, all except for the lead Yorick Brown and his little monkey, Ampersand.  It’s an interesting premise right from the off, how would humankind be able to continue on without males?  I know there’s a lot of women that talk about how great it would be, but there are two parts to the reproductive equation, both very important.

One of the things touched on in the first issue is the delivery of a clone baby, something the doctor that delivers is ethically opposed to, but something that could really help a potentially very screwed mankind.  I’m guessing that this will come up again at some point.

Something that really makes this book interesting, though, is the portrayal of a society still very reliant on males, especially in the high ranking military roles and high up political roles, so what you get to see is women in both circles that don’t necessarily feel ready to take on such large responsibilities (like going from the Argricultural Minister to the President of the United States) having to step up and take the role on.  It gives both a stark view on the continued lack of full gender equality in the big, important roles in the world and also shows the power of the human mind, able to overcome any obstacle thrown in our way with the right attitude and mindset.

So far, and like I said I’m not very far through this at all, it’s been a really thought provoking book.  It makes you take a step back after reading and actually think about everything you’ve just taken in, how different everything would be, and how different things should still be now, with everyone alive.  Serious kudos to Brian K. Vaughan for this, on top of this incredibly unique premise is a well structured story with great characterisation and dialogue that doesn’t drag.  Nothing in this book feels superfluous, everything you see seems to be setting something up and more importantly, everything and everyone is believable.

One of the smartest books I’ve read in quite some time, and one that I can’t wait to continue on with when time permits.

Leave a Reply

