31 Days of comics, day 29

Well I finally managed to get here, this evening has been an absolute nightmare.  I’ve spent, no joke, hours trying to get my damn phone working properly again.  It turned out to be a combination of a micro SD card gone to hell and a really dodgy OS update put out by Sony.  All in all, it’s left me feeling incredibly bitter, mostly towards Sony whose products I will most likely never buy again, but there is a sense of just plain old general bitterness there too.  Anyway, on to today’s challenge, a comic that changed my view of the world.  That’s a really tough one for me, much like several other of the challenges, there isn’t really one I can think of that’s had sucha profound effect on me.  Maybe I’m just really tough to move, maybe I’ve not been reading the right books, I don’t know.  I guess there’s only one that’s really come close to that kind of effect, and even that hasn’t necessarily changed the way I view the world so much as got me thinking about future possibilities and how frightening some of this stuff would be.

Comic that changed the way you see the world


Think Tank from Matt Hawkins and Rahsan Ekedal

So the idea behind this comic was that it would be heavily grounded in real military research.  I understand that some of this is a bit of a stretch right now, but Matt Hawkins did his research so anything that seems crazy advanced right now is something we could well see in the future.  And as Hawkins points out, military technology is often quite far ahead of commercial tech, so what might seem outlandish to us mere civilians, could either be right around the corner or here already for the military.  And some of it scares the crap out of me.

It does alter my view of government spending, I know that I’m a UK resident, but you can assume that a similar percentage of our governments spending goes into military research as that of the US.  And oh boy, do they spend a lot on military research.  It makes you wonder why, when most of the wars fought in recent memory are with countries so far behind us in that department, countries that can’t even afford to go into research, testing and mass production of a modern assault rifle, let alone drones capable of fighting a war for you.  Brings a whole new meaning to the phrase “keyboard warrior”.

But one of the things looked at in this series is a bomb capable of dispersing a virus that latches onto specific, very slight local DNA differences, essentially being able to create a biological weapon you could drop on a combat zone you already have troops in.  It’s vicious, and in the wrong hands could cause large scale devastation.  The moral concerns behind it are many, not least of all the potential for another holocaust, just rather than rounding up a particular race of people they can be specifically targeted with one of these smart bombs.  To think one of these could be only a few years away is bad in every way possible, no one should ever hold that kind of weapon.  No one.

Hawkins also gets you thinking about what this kind of work does to the people that have to do it.  David Loren is a child prodigy, his parents didn’t know what to do with a kid that smart and so basically handed him over to the government.  David had no say, and while he loves technology and playing with the latest toys, the potential death toll he inflicts takes a drastic toll on him, further exacerbated by betrayals by people he cared for and he thought cared for him.  It concerns me that there’s even the slightest chance this is how things are done, stripping people of their free will, using and manipulating them to build you better weapons than others could even dream of.

It paints a bleak picture for the future of humankind.  I hate the fact that military strength is so important in our society, and I hate the fact that so called “developed” countries could ever possibly stoop so low.  So actually, I guess this book has altered my view of the world much more than I thought it had, it puts across a strong message but without throwing it in your face.  That’s the sign of a good writer.

That’s all I’ve got for you this evening, I’m so tired of looking at a computer screen after my phone debacle earlier.  I can feel my eyes drying over, so I’m going to call it a night.  Don’t forget to head over here in case you’ve missed any previous posts or are new here, and check the original out over here.  Thank you, and good night.

3 thoughts on “31 Days of comics, day 29

  1. I’ll have to check out Top Cow’s THINK THANK. This is sort of a note to self. I can’t say this is typical of Top Cow but it sounds great. Well, I can certainly see this as a real possibility. It’s not like we couldn’t stop ourselves, but we won’t. Just research the atomic bomb and all its wrought, and that is all you need to know to think we’re already doomed. And yet we still manage to function on this planet. It’s all relative.

    Like

    • It’s well worth a read, I recommend it to everyone!
      It’s a fair point that a glance at our history, especially recent history, already shows how likely we are to utterly destroy ourselves. The thing this book does though is open your eyes to the underbelly of military research and the disgusting lengths they’ll go to achieve destruction/domination.

      Like

Leave a Reply

