31 Days of comics, day 15

Hey everyone, sorry for the sudden and unannounced disappearance, I’ve been struck with the plague black death man-flu.  All joking aside, it’s actually really sucked, and while I had to take a couple of days off work I went back before I was fully ok so I’ve been coming home and just going to bed.  Anyway, enough complaining, I am back and want to get cracking on with the 31 day challenge.  And it’s a nice one to come back to today, a comic that makes me smile.

So, unsurprisingly, we come back to another DC title. 

A comic that makes you smile


Green Lantern Rebirth #6 – Black Sheep

Ah Green Lantern Rebirth, such a great return to continuity for Hal Jordan and such a wonderfully written series from Geoff Johns.  While I have loved every moment of the series since I’ve started reading it, up to where I’m at now (Blackest Night) this issue had me grinning from ear to ear.  It’s well known that I’m a fan of Batman, but I’m sure you’ll be able to appreciate this whether a Batman fan or not, probably even more so if you’re not a fan.

In the run up to this, we’ve had Hal return from the dead/his time as the Spectre, and obviously it’s made waves amongst the Green Lantern corps and Earth’s greatest heroes.  Batman, being the skeptic he is, is certain something dodgy is going on here.  He confronts Hal about how he came back, giving him a load of shit that Hal really doesn’t want to deal with, he just wants to get back to his corps and try to makes things right after breaking down and single handedly destroying it after being taken over by Parallax.  What happens next is just genius.

https://i1.wp.com/geekhardshow.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/HalPunchBats.jpg

While I really enjoyed Batman getting put down by one punch from Hal Jordan, I think the best part of this by far is the reaction it gets from Guy Gardner.  One of the best moments in a comic ever, nothing heart warming or adorable or anything like that, just pure and simple amusement.

Thanks for reading again, now that I’m back to normal (near enough, anyway) I’ll be back to my regular posting schedule.  I’ll have my next top 5 posted up in the next day or two and then that’ll be back to a regular Sunday thing again.  This week’s comics will be picked up on Saturday, so with my top 5 on Sunday I’ll most likely get my impressions on that posted up on Monday, and my aim is to get my quick run down of last weeks done this Friday.  Good night all, see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

