Reeebooooooooot!!

Yup, in line with modern day comics, and their movie adaptation counterparts, it is time for the reboot.  But fear not, this is not the big red button type of reboot, everything that has gone on this blog before will remain in canon, so any time you may have spent reading through previous posts is not time wasted at all.  Basically, in line with finding the time to take this hobby back up, I figured I’d go for a bit of a colour and layout change along with a little bit more of a focus on what I’ll be posting about.  You may also notice a new title and tagline to go along with this slight update in appearance, which will hopefully make my focussed areas of discussion more apparent.  Today’s update will be more of a brief outline of where things will be going as opposed to anything else.

One of the big things I really want to start doing is reviews, so that’ll be something I’ll be attempting.  Since I have a fairly limited amount of time (and money) I’ll only be reviewing comics that are on my pull list and the occasional new game that I may pick up.  This may (read: will) result in a fairly biased looking set of reviews since I have a lot of DC comics on my pull list to one Marvel book.  Simply put, I’m not going to be changing my monthly reading habits to attempt to get a better spread of reviews so if you don’t like it, tough.  That’s not to say every DC book is going to get a glowing review, of course.  I will also be posting up reviews of trade paperbacks and graphic novels I read so things will probably even out a little there.  Exactly how these reviews will be conducted and presented will be decided when I do it, there may be a little inconsitency in the first few until I find a style I like, so bear with me on those.

The video game reviews are going to be a whole other beast, however.  I have even less of a clue how these are going to work, to the point where I’m going to say now that while I am eager to give it a go, it may be something I try out and end up scrapping off.  The simple fact is, to stay relevent with game reviews you need to sink a lot of time into them over a few days and get the review out quick, that’s not something I’ll be consistently able to do.  It’s something I’m going to have to give a go and see.  What I’m also going to be dropping is movie and animated movie reviews, but these will be totally limited to comic adaptations so there aren’t going to be a huge amount of them.

Various news pieces from around the interwebs will be analysed and discussed here too, again, mainly falling into comics, games and comic related movies.  For the most part, this is going to be purely down to the stuff I am personally interested in unless there is a particularly stand out story that warrants my attention.  So we’ll be looking at a lot of DC news, a fair bit of Image news, all sorts of stuff for the XBox One and XBox 360 and a few other bits and pieces.

Finally, there is going to be a little project I will be publishing through this very blog.  I’m not really going to let you in on too much right now, as I’m a little way away from being ready to show it off, but I can tell you that it’ll be a short ongoing comic strip called “Shit List”.  Visually, it’ll be a fairly stripped down, basic looking comic that’ll be more of a test bed for my visual story telling techniques than anything else, although it is also a story I’m having a lot of fun plotting and writing and I am really looking forward to sharing.

I think that just about covers it for now, if anything else pops up I’ll be sure to let you know.  I’m going to go and have a quick coffee and cigarette before I settle in for some Battlefield 4.  Please be sure to check back every few days and thanks for checking this out.

One more thing, follow here: @NickLayland88

Leave a Reply

