I have no excuse this time.

Yes, I missed my self appointed three day deadline for posting updates, I was having far too much of a good time yesterday doing as little as possible.  It really is as simple as that, it was the first Sunday in quite some time where I didn’t have work or something else going on with someone where I could just kick back and enjoy some free time.  And enjoy it I did, I started a new playthrough of Dragon Age: Origins, continued my already excessive game on Skyrim and sat and watched Batman & Mr Freeze: SubZero.  And you know what?  I had a great day, totally relaxed with not a single care in the world.  There aren’t many days where I get to do that anymore, so I sacrificed my blog post to fully appreciate it.  I probably won’t get a day like that again for a little while, and the thing is, when I’ve had a fairly busy day I usually like to use this as a chance to unwind but after a day of naff all, I just can’t be bothered apparently.

Now, on to things more interesting, eh?  Way way back in February of this year I attended the awesome London Super Comic Con, had an absolute blast but, more to the point, sat in on the Top Cow Panel.  During this panel Matt Hawkins (bit of a legend) announced that Top Cow would be doing a second talent hunt this year, in a similar vein to last year.  I can’t say I’ve seen much online for it so far, probably looking in all the wrong places, but since then I’ve been floating a whole load of ideas around in my head for what I could do, based on what we were told there.  I didn’t want to put too much into it just in case things changed and I had to either adapt or rewrite my entire script.  Well, that didn’t quite pan out and what I’ve ended up with is a script for a thirty two page comic that I’m not sure I can do anything with or not.  Long story slightly shortened, what I’ve decided I’m going to do is scour their website for information and, if I find out it’s now become irrelevant, I’ll post it up on here for all to see.  I have to say I’m actually really pleased with how it ended up, it’s a story based on a mystical, supernatural artifact in a very sci-fi environment and I think the two elements bounce of each other really nicely.  Anyway, I’ll check it out more thoroughly over the next couple of days and we’ll see what they’re saying.  If it turns out that I can still use it then I might give you dedicated readers a sneak preview, but I don’t want to drop the whole thing on here in that case.  For anyone interested it’s a Witchblade story with one other small cameo in there, and not some throw away scene but something quite cool right at the end.

On the subject of writing, and since I’m putting myself out there a little more today, at some point next week I will be adding an excerpt from my very own graphic novel onto this blog.  I have a full script ready to rock and roll, giving a page estimate of 160 at this point but this may change.  I think if it’s going to go either way right now, it may actually increase in length slightly.  The thing with this book is that it’s meant to be setting up a whole new universe of continuity, it’ll be a three or four book series that will (hopefully) set up a huge series.  I have plans for many more, the only thing standing in my way right now is the art side of things.  Not being in a position where I know a great artist is a bit of a sticking point, and while I’ve been desperately trying to get myself back into art myself I really need to focus on one or the other.  Even before I’d decided to move my focus onto the writing side of things, a lot of the drawings I’d been doing were silly little things just for the fun of it.  I am not accomplished enough at this point to knock out an entire graphic novel, it’s as simple as that, but I think my writing is good enough.  I say that in the least arrogant way possible, I’d like to add.  I’ve never been that good at genuinely bigging myself up, but I think if I’m going to push this out I need to be able to discuss my strengths as much as I can my weaknesses.

On to a completely different topic altogether, September is looking like it’s going to be a truly epic month for three reasons.  Reason number one is that I am off to N.I.C.E right at the start off the month and will be taking my blank cover Action Comics #18 for Guillem March to scribble over.  On top of that I’m hoping I’ll be able to find some awesome bargains, and of course mingling with loads of like minded people is always really nice too!  Then we have the fact that it’s Villains Month over at DC, it’ll mean a more expensive month for comics that usual but you know, I really don’t care.  Especially with the Killer Croc one shot from Tim Seeley, that’s the one I’m really looking forward to.  Point number three, and to be honest probably the most significant source of my excitement is I’ll be taking an eight week old kitten off a friend of my moms to be my little buddy for the next decade and a half (all being well).  I already have a slew of names ready in my head (yes, they’re all comic book characters!) and will be looking to get a load of stuff ready for it next month.  It’s a genuinely exciting time for me right now, loads of stuff coming up, loads of things going on right now and I have a week off work next week so that’ll be nice.

Right then, I’m going to go and enjoy a nice cup of coffee and a cigarette, mostly because my legs are far too warm underneath this bloody laptop and it’s really starting to distract me now.  Just a quick point before I go, I have written this entire blog post to the wonderful sound of the Skyrim soundtrack which has made it both incredibly relaxing and unbelievably epic at the same time!  Loving it!  Anyway, as one of my all time favourite childhood characters would say at this point, TTFN – ta ta for now!

@NickLayland88

Leave a Reply

