Too easily distracted for my own good.

It’s an unfortunate fact of being me, I’m afraid.  When it comes to actually sitting down and doing some work, or as it is at my current job, not sitting down but still doing work I’m normally ok.  It’s when I’m sitting down and doing something like this, for the fun of it, that I can be so easily distracted.  I had loaded today’s blank page up ready with some specific topics in mind and just as I was about to type out my title, I received a text.  By the time I’d finished replying to the text, not only had I forgotten the title I was about to use, but all of my talking points had gone too.  It can be a little frustrating at times, I often find myself stopped by someone on my way to do something and by the time I reach the room I needed to be in, I have no idea why I’m there.  It also means I’m most likely going to spend much longer doing this than I really want to, simply trying to think of something to discuss. 

Oh, I’ve got one, quite a good one actually.  Ender’s Game.  It’s an upcoming movie from Lionsgate Studios, adaptation of a book by an author called Orson Scott Card.  Anyone who has been keeping up with all of the news surrounding this film will probably be able to guess what I’m going to discuss, but for those of you who do not know Orson Scott Card (let’s refer to him as OSC from this point on, just for my own ease) is probably one of the most bigoted human beings I’ve had the misfortune of reading opinions from.  Don’t get me wrong, I firmly believe that we live in a world where people are fully entitled to their own opinions, whether they differ from my own or not.  Often you will find when someone has a differing opinion to your own it can bring about healthy discussions which may open your mind to a point of view you’d never considered before.  Unfortunately, this particular man seems to think that his opinion is actually fact, and that anyone who disagrees with his views is just flat out wrong.  There is one particular opinion he has that really grates me, and not because I fall into the group of people that he is so firmly against, simply because I have such a strong feeling of personal choice and individuality.  Rather than explaining his view in my own words, I’m instead going to use a few choice quotes do give you an idea of the kind of idiot we are dealing with here:

“Laws against homosexual behavior should remain on the books, not to be indiscriminately enforced against anyone who happens to be caught violating them, but to be used when necessary to send a clear message that those who flagrantly violate society’s regulation of sexual behavior cannot be permitted to remain as acceptable, equal citizens within that society.”

“Many homosexuals first entered into that world through a disturbing seduction or rape or molestation or abuse”

Those two, I think, sum things up perfectly well.  It is also worth noting he was on the board of directors of The National Organization for Marriage up until sometime this year.  A group who’s name is a little misleading as they spend most of their time campaigning against same sex marriage.  The really funny thing about this thoroughly bigoted and clearly quite bitter human being is that he gets pissy at people for not respecting or even tolerating his views.  So, basically, even though he has no level of tolerance for anyone supporting same sex marriage, we should all tolerate him.  Yeah, of course, because that’s how the world works.  It all revolves around him.  It’s at this point that I start to develop a headache.

So what’s this got to do with Ender’s Game, then?  Well, I am a firm believer in voting with your wallet.  I don’t own any of his written works and can tell you for a fact that I never will, I do not feel comfortable handing any of my hard earned money to OSC, regardless of how much he gets per book, and this extends to the film as well.  People like this shouldn’t be tolerated in today’s progressive, forward thinking society where we allow people to make their own decisions and find happiness wherever they like.  With this sentiment, I will absolutely not be going to see Ender’s Game, I will not be financially supporting this utter cretin much in the same way that I would never attend Dragon Con, which is essentially dropping cash straight into the pocket of a peadophile.  There is an online petition, which I have signed, stating that you will not be supporting the film simply because of the author and if you have the same beliefs as I do and feel as strongly about this idiot I’d recommend you head on over and sign it too.  Show the studios that the work of OSC will not be supported, making any future collaborations too financially risky to move forward with.  DC already dropped him from a Superman series thanks to a similar petition, so it clearly has an impact.  If you’re not that bothered then by all means, go watch the film, that is your choice and I’m not going to be someone who criticises anyone for it.

 

On a much, much lighter note today was my new comics day, since I was working the late yesterday and couldn’t get out for them.  The first thing I did when I got in was read through issue 22 of Justice League Dark, the third part of the Trinity War crossover.  (SPOILERS!)Things are looking pretty dire for all three leagues involved, all of which are now divided and most importantly, the traditional trinity is split.  Superman is continuing to lead the Justice League with a few other loyal members, Wonder Woman has gone off with the Justice League Dark to search for Pandora and her box (not a euphemism, get your minds out the gutter) and Batman has joined up with the Justice League of America to try and track down the soul of Doctor Light.  It’s all getting a bit nutty, not in a bad way mind, but I’m really starting to wonder what this will mean for the three teams when this all wraps up.  Things will not be the same again, that much is clear, especially with the revelation at the end that there is a mole within the Justice League.  At this point we have absolutely no idea who the mole is, but I’m going to go and read Constantine #5 now in the hope that some hints will be dropped, although I think since John is working with Wonder Woman it will most likely continue chronicling the hunt for Pandora.  In fact, now that I’ve started talking about it I really want to see so I’m going to go and read it right now.

Thank you for stopping by and checking out this evening’s particularly heavy going post, hopefully the next one to come along will be a little more lighthearted!  Enjoy the rest of your evening, hope to have you along for the next post.

@NickLayland88

Leave a Reply

