I’m back!

That’s right folks, after my sudden and abrupt, though relatively short, hiatus from the world of blogging, I have returned to normal duties once again.  I’d love to spend today’s post explaining why it is I haven’t posted in just over a week and a half, but I’m not going to.  I will go as far as to let you know that I have something pretty cool I’ll be running through this blog, starting in about a month or so.  Essentially, I got really busy and the blog updates were a fairly low priority in comparison to most of the things that have come up.  But as I said, I’m here now and should be able to get back to my previous posting frequency.

It’s a pretty good time to get back into this too, what with San Diego Comic Con being this weekend (so gutted I wasn’t there) so there is plenty of stuff to talk about.  One of the things that jumped out at me immediately was the little tidbit of information that came from Warner Bros. and DC.  The next Superman film will be a team up with Batman.  I called it, I’m fairly certain it’s in a previous post somewhere (feel free to have a look, I can’t be bothered) but even if it isn’t, I had wanted a traditional “World’s Finest” film since stepping out of the cinema on Man of Steel day and with the Wayne Enterprises satellite, wouldn’t have been surprised to see it happen.  That’s been given a rather tentative release year of 2015.

Then there’s The Flash, for me one of the most underrated and under appreciated heroes in comic books.  Yes, he has a very loyal following from those nestled in the warmth of the DC Universe, but those outside of that particular group of fans, and of course those who don’t read comics at all, seem to have very little knowledge or interest in him.  Hopefully this film will turn heads and get more people enthusiastic about the fastest man alive, what will be really interesting though is whether they go for Barry Allen or Wally West and, of course, which of his many story arcs and villains they use.  I believe, ideally, they’re looking at a potential release year of 2016 for this one, but we shall see about that, if DC’s trade paperback release times are anything to go by it could be another couple of years on top, but let’s not open that can of worms again.

The final movie announcement from DC that sprung out at me was, of course, their announcement of drrrrrr (drum roll): Justice League!  Finally!  Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed the Avengers (ignoring all of it’s glaring plot holes) but I’m a DC kid, this is the film I have been waiting for for quite some time so to know that it’s definitely coming is absolutely brilliant news.  As far as I can tell, Henry Cavill will be reprising his role as Clark/Kal/Supes, and why wouldn’t he?  I thought he was perfect as the man of steel, and put a nice spin on the attitudes of Clark.  I would actually quite like to see Ryan Reynolds come back as Hal Jordan too, I know that Green Lantern was not a fantastic film (I actually didn’t dislike it that much though to be honest) but Reynolds was a spot on casting choice for Hal.  We all know Christian Bale won’t be returning to don the Bat cowl but that’s no big issue for me, I’m not a massive fan of the Dark Knight trilogy myself, I don’t look at those films and see Batman, I see a man dressed as Batman who beats everyone up.  I also didn’t think Bale was that great, I don’t care how ridiculously popular it was, it just didn’t strike the right chord for me I’m afraid.

So the DC movie announcements were pretty exciting!  I for one cannot wait to see all three of those films, and anything else they come up with between now and then.  But, that wasn’t it for movie announcements, oh no.  Before I had the chance to properly process all of that information and really start to get excited, I see that there was movie adaptation talk coming from the Top Cow camp too.  Two films (that I know of) are going to be coming our way from my all time favourite comic book studio, The Darkness and Think Tank.  Now, The Darkness is a film that has been touted as in production for a while now, we’ve known that Len Weissman (spelling?) would be directing the project so, to me, it looked as though they were going for the right tone.  We’ve also known that Marc Silvestri and Matt Hawkins were playing a heavy role in making sure the film wasn’t complete cack, which is also very good news.  What came out at comic con, however, was much more interesting for me.  The Angelus, the long time (seriously long time) nemesis of The Darkness will be in the film in some capacity.  I would assume as the main antagonist, but with the way things have been between the Darkness and the Angelus forces since Dani Baptiste took over the latter, there could be some kind of crazy team up going on.  I doubt it, but you never know.  The other big, big piece of news regarding this film was that the Witchblade and it’s wielder, Sara Pezzini, will also be coming along for the ride.  I desperately hope they’re doing this to seed the idea of a standalone Witchblade movie, it needs to happen and has needed to for quite some time now.  Casting will be key to making this a success, not anyone can step into the roles of Jackie Estacado and Sara Pezzini and if they get that wrong, it’ll all go tits up.

Think Tank is a very interesting proposition too, I’m a huge fan of the comic book and quite an advocate too, trying to encourage anyone and everyone to get into it.  It’s funny though, having read all that has been so far, it’s not a series I had really thought would make the move to the big screen, it had never crossed my mind at all, in fact.  I’m curious as to who would be cast in the role of David Loren, and where the story will go.  Ideally it needs to tread a bit of new ground, yes it obviously needs some sort of introduction (I won’t say “origin” so much since it’s not a super hero film) but I think a rehash of the first couple of story arcs would be a mistake.  I guess time will tell, I’ve seen no release dates for either film so far so it could be any number of years before we get to see these in action, but based on the quality of Top Cow’s books (especially recently) I’m holding out a lot of hope for some quality film making.  A spot of rare optimism, it slips through every now and then.

I think I’m going to call it a night at this point, I’ll go over some of the other cool stuff to come out of the con in the next couple of days, I think this should just about do it for tonight.  Plus, I have work tomorrow so I don’t want this to suddenly take me to 1am which it could quite easily do if I let myself carry on.  Regular posting will resume as of now, so keep an eye out.  As always, thanks for stopping by and reading and good night to you all.

@NickLayland88

Leave a Reply

