The first of many…

So, welcome all to my blog.  Before I get into the swing of writing this I think an introduction would be nice.  My name is Nick, I live in Birmingham (UK) and am currently 24 years of age.  I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for some time now, but never have for two reasons; for a start off I’ve always felt like I didn’t have anything in particular to say, on top of that I’d sort of convinced myself that I’d never be able to find the time to actually go ahead and do this.  But I’m at the point where I don’t care so much if I bring anything new or interesting to the table, I still like to put my thoughts and opinions out there.  It’s also quite nice and relaxing sitting and typing my thoughts away.

Before we get thing going properly (I do apologize for all this rambling, not the best start to get off to I know) I just want to put a couple of things out there.  Since this is still quite a new, fresh thing for me it might well take me a few posts to get the hang of this.  Secondly, I am going to make a serious effort to get one of these out every evening if for no other reason than being able to get things off my chest after a long day.  Thirdly, while I can have a tendency to be quite easily irritated and can be quite vocal about things that annoy me, I’m going to make every effort to keep this as civil as possible.

So, the things I’m likely to be discussing are comics (old and new), movies, TV, music, video games and interesting bits and pieces from my day.  My tastes in all of the above are pretty wide so there should be plenty of things to ramble on about!  I’m going to start on comics since they probably hold the most interest for me right now.  In one form or another I spent quite a bit of my childhood reading comics.  As a very young child I would pick up the Beano every single week, just as excited each time to see what Dennis the Menace and Gnasher were getting up to.  I think I was about 8 or 9 when I read a hardback comic book that would change my view on the format forever.  I forget the exact title but it was a Batman comic, one of his darker and rougher titles, where he and Robin go take down a group of thugs at Gotham docks (I think).  The other thing I remember is there was a snake involved, and it bit someone but I can’t remember who.  I can, however, remember exactly where I bought it.  In a small town in Wales called Hay-on-Wye.  It’s difficult to aptly describe the place, but for a town that houses just shy of 2,000 people it’s also home to between 30 and 40 bookshops.  And these book shops are absolutely packed out, it’s a truly unique and incredible place.  Right at the end of a fairly tiring day walking round as many as I could in a day I stumbled upon this Batman book and gave it a go.  From there I went on to start reading my friends issues of Spawn during school lunch breaks and would pick up the odd issue of Spider-Man here and there.  When I started at secondary school, I don’t know why but it just fell completely by the wayside, and I would go on to not read a comic for what must have been about 11 or 12 years.  It’s hurting my head trying to think of it that way so to make it easier, I started reading them again 2 years ago when I played a game that would once again change my perception of comics in quite a big way.  It’s worth noting that I had been keeping up with Marvel’s, Fox’s, Sony’s and WB’s comic book films quite consistently but they had never pulled me back into reading again.  The game?

The Darkness.  And what a game that first game was.  The dark gritty setting, the fantastically written story, the mob element and of course Jackie Estacado and his incredible powers.  Thanks to that game, I’m now an avid reader of pretty much every single Top Cow series going and have recently dived headfirst into the mass of comics that is the New 52.  It goes to show what power video games really have, I’m going to stick my neck out and say this type of thing will most likely have happened with others too.

So, I’m looking at the time and the length of this post and thinking I’m going to have to call it soon before the few people that see this get bored and never come back (it’ll get better, I promise!).  Before I do, since I ended up talking about Top Cow at the end there and so have myself a nice segue I’d just like to make note of how much I enjoyed Witchblade #166 this week.  Tim Seeley has done a really great job, bringing his style and weirdness to Sara’s world and while I also really enjoyed #165 it was a little slower in pace while dealing with the fallout from the Progeny crossover so it was good to see Sara throwing her weight around this month and brandishing the ‘Blade a little more.  The dialogue is sharp as always and the artwork was perfectly executed throughout.  A little part of me misses having Stjepan Sejic on Witchblade art duties but Diego Bernard has, much like Seeley, put his own stamp on it which I think has resulted in a really enjoyable couple of years.

Well, that was fun!  I can’t honestly see every single one of these being as long as this was going forward, but I think that was a pretty decent start to things.  I guess it’ll really start to take shape soon so please, keep reading on if there was something that interested you.  There will be discussions on other things too as I said, just so happened to be very comic related tonight.  Anyway, thanks for coming by, check back tomorrow!

Oh, and if that wasn’t enough for you, follow me on twitter and get live updates on various tid bits @nicklayland88

Leave a Reply

